Music on the Hill: ¡Cello!

music on the hill

Event Details

Music on the Hill: ¡Cello!

music on the hillAs a part of the Music on the Hill Festival Series, musicians will performs works showcasing the cello at the Ocean State Theatre. Following the concert you can meet and greet the performing musicians.

Tickets are $25 in advance and $30 at the door. Advanced ticket sales end June 1st.

Order your tickets via Paypal here. You can also purchase tickets by mailing in the ticket form found here with your payment or you can request tickets by emailing [email protected].


David Popper (1843-1913) Requiem for Three Cellos, Op. 66 
Michelle Djokic, Keith Robinson, Elisa Kohanski, cellos

Sir Arthur Drummond Bliss (1891-1975) Oboe Quintet, Op. 44 
1. Andante Con Moto
2. Vivace
Margaret Butler, oboe; Anton Miller, Kristen Pellegrino, violins; Rita Porfiris, viola; Elisa Kohanski, cello

Nick Didkovsky (b. 1958) “Caught by the Sky with Wire” 
Peter Ferry, percussion; Michelle Djokic, cello

Jean Françaix (1912-1997) Divertissement for Bassoon & String Quintet
1. Vivace
2. Lento
3. Vivo assai
4. Allegro
Steve Vacchi, bassoon; Anton Miller & Kristen Pellegrino, violins; Rita Porfiris, viola; Elisa Kohanski, cello; John M Pellegrino, bass


Franz Schubert (1797-1828) String Quintet in C, D. 956, Op. posth. 163 
1. Allegro ma non troppo
2. Adagio
3. Scherzo: Presto—Trio: Andante sostenuto
4. Finale: Allegretto
Miami String Quartet & Michelle Djokic, cello

For a more detailed look at the program, see the 2014 Music on the Hill Magazine.

About Music on the Hill: Music on the Hill hosts an annual Festival Series of featuring prominent musicians who have come from, or currently live in Rhode Island during two weeks in June. Music on the Hill offers concerts at venues throughout the state. The Festival offers an enriched musical experience by incorporating “culinary concerts” that include a wine tasting, tantalizing appetizers and an assortment of desserts. Performers enhance the audience experience by sharing some history of the music and composers.

Author: Tim Blankenship

I work on websites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *