Kronos Quartet World Premier

Event Details

FirstWorks and Community MusicWorks join in a bold collaboration to commission a new work for one of the most innovative ensembles in the world today.

This intimate and exhilarating concert offers spectacular virtuosity and some of the best music of our time created especially for Kronos. Featuring a stunning world-premiere of FirstWorks and Community Music Works co-commissioned work: A Voice Exclaiming, by Kareem Roustom, plus works by Laurie Anderson, Aleksandra Vrebalov, John Oswald, and more. To listen to the Kronos Quartet is to be drawn into fascinating, new musical worlds!

Tickets required ($28-65)

About Kronos:

For 40 years, the Kronos Quartet—David Harrington, John Sherba (violins), Hank Dutt (viola), and Sunny Yang (cello)—has pursued a singular artistic vision, combining a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the most celebrated and influential groups of our time, performing thousands of concerts worldwide, releasing more than 50 recordings of extraordinary breadth and creativity, collaborating with many of the world’s most intriguing and accomplished composers and performers, and commissioning more than 800 works and arrangements for string quartet. In 2011, Kronos became the only recipients of both the Polar Music Prize and the Avery Fisher Prize, two of the most prestigious awards given to musicians. The group’s numerous awards also include a Grammy for Best Chamber Music Performance (2004) and “Musicians of the Year” (2003) from Musical America.

Author: Tim Blankenship

I work on websites.

2 thoughts on “Kronos Quartet World Premier”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *