Music on the Hill Mendelssohn Octet

Event Details

Music on the Hill: Mendelssohn Octet

Featuring the Miami String Quartet

music on the hillAs a part of the Music on the Hill Festival Series, musicians will performs works by Mendelssohn and Golijov at the Ocean State Theatre in Warwick.

Tickets are $25 in advance and $30 at the door. Advanced ticket sales end June 1st.

Order your tickets via Paypal here. You can also purchase tickets by mailing in the ticket form found here with your payment or you can request tickets by emailing [email protected].


Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) Concertpiece No. 1 in F minor, Op. 113 for Oboe & Bassoon 
Margaret Butler, oboe; Steve Vacchi, bassoon; Anton Miller, Kristen Pellegrino, violins; Rita Porfiris, viola; Michelle Djokic, cello; John M Pellegrino, bass

Felix Mendelssohn String Quartet No. 4 in E minor, Op. 44, No. 2
1. Allegro assai appassionato
2. Scherzo: Allegro di molto
3. Andante
4. Presto agitato
Miami String Quartet


Osvaldo Golijov (b. 1960) “Mariel” 
Peter Ferry, marimba; Michelle Djokic, cello

Felix Mendelssohn String Octet in E-Flat major, Op. 20 
Miami String Quartet & Anton Miller, Kristen Pellegrino, violins; Rita Porfiris, viola; Elisa Kohanski, cello

For a more detailed look at the program, see the 2014 Music on the Hill Magazine.

About Music on the Hill: Music on the Hill hosts an annual Festival Series of featuring prominent musicians who have come from, or currently live in Rhode Island during two weeks in June. Music on the Hill offers concerts at venues throughout the state. The Festival offers an enriched musical experience by incorporating “culinary concerts” that include a wine tasting, tantalizing appetizers and an assortment of desserts. Performers enhance the audience experience by sharing some history of the music and composers.

Author: Tim Blankenship

I work on websites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *